Science Council

The Science Council is charged with the approval of courses for the natural science (Sc) distributional designation and more broadly with overseeing the enhancement of undergraduate education in the natural and applied sciences.

The Science Council members are:
Priyamvada Natarajan (Chair)

Professor, Astronomy and Physics

Amy Arnsten
Professor, Neurobiology

Pincelli Hull                                                                                                                                                                          Professor, Geology and Geophysics

Mark Johnson
Professor, Chemistry

Michael Koelle
Professor, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

Mitchell Smooke
Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Meg Urry                                                                                                                                                                                      Professor, Physics and Astronomy


All members of the Council are available to discuss matters pertaining to undergraduate science education.

Materials to be considered in association with new course proposals or proposals for the enhancement of science teaching may be submitted to the Chair or to the Science Council, c/o Sandy Chang, Yale College Dean’s Office, Room SSS 26.