Science Council

The Science Council is charged with the approval of courses for the natural science (Sc) distributional designation and more broadly with overseeing the enhancement of undergraduate education in the natural and applied sciences. All members of the Council are available to discuss matters pertaining to undergraduate science education. Materials to be considered in association with new course proposals or proposals for the enhancement of science teaching may be submitted to the Chair or to the Science Council, c/o, Yale College Dean’s Office, Room SSS 26.

Science Council 2023-2024

Nikhil Padmanabhan, Chair
Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy

Sandy Chang, Vice Chair
Professor, Laboratory Medicine, Pathology and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

Jay Ague
Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences

Amy Arnsten
Professor, Neuroscience and Psychology

Mark Johnson
Professor, Chemistry

Witold Skiba
Professor, Physics

Meg Urry
Professor, Astronomy and Physics